Sioux City Explorers Home

712.277.WINS (9467)


Search Archive »



The Sioux City Explorers fell to the Laredo Lemurs, 4-1 at Uni-Trade Stadium, ending their six game winning streak. The Lemurs clinched the playoffs with the victory. 


Laredo scored the first run of the game in the second. Lemurs first baseman Travis Denker singled, moved to first on an error, advanced to third off a Drew Martinez base hit, and scored from third off a sacrifice fly by Juan Silverio. 


The Explorers got on the board in the fifth with a run. X’s shortstop Noah Perio ripped a double to right to start the inning. Perio later advanced to third on a fly-ball and scored off a Tommy Mendonca sacrifice fly to tie it at 1-1. 


In the sixth and seventh innings, Laredo extended the lead by plating three runs between the innings. Lemurs right-fielder Dennis Phipps crossed home on a wild pitch, Laredo’s shortstop J.D. Pulfer lined a base-hit to right, scoring runners from second and third to make it 4-1. 


Explorers starter Ryan Strufing (0-2) got the no decision on the night, only allowing one run in five innings pitched. X’s reliever Billy Bullock (2-2) was charged with the loss, giving up three runs in two innings. 


Laredo’s starting pitcher Matt Loosen (6-6) finished with the no decision with one run allowed in 5.2 innings. Right-hander Luis De La Cruz (3-2) received the win pitching in relief (1.1 innings) with no runs. Lemurs left-hander John Brebbia (s-19) got the save, closing it out in the ninth inning. 


The X’s have also clinched the 2015 American Association Central Division Championship and will host the first two games of playoffs (September 9-10th) at Lewis and Clark Park. Reserve your tickets now by stopping down to the stadium box office located at Lewis & Clark Park (3400 Line Drive, Sioux City, IA 51106) or by ordering online at or by phone at 712-277-WINS (9467).